English |  
Bilateral Relations

African Union (AU)

South African Development Community (SADC)

Deputy President Mr Kgalema Petrus Motlanthe
  • Date of Birth: 19 July 1949
Current Positions
  • Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa since 10 May 2009.

  • Deputy President of the African National Congress (ANC) since December 2007.

  • Member of Parliament since July 2008.

  • Secretary-General of National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) since 1992.

  • Trade Unionist of the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU).
Career/Positions/Memberships/Other Activities
  • Recruited into Umkhonto we Sizwe (MK) and formed part of a unit responsible for recruiting comrades for military training in the 1970s.

  • He was arrested and detained for 11 months in 1976.

  • While many of the members of the Unit left the country, he remained in the country to establish machinery for and participated in smuggling MK cadres in and out of the country.

  • Found guilty of three charges under Terrorism Act and sentenced to 10 years imprisonment in Robben Island prison in 1977.

  • After his release in 1987, he was responsible for strengthening the Union Movement.

  • Education Officer of National Union of Mineworkers (NUM)and responsible for training of Shop-Stewards (1987).

  • Was instrumental in negotiating a deal for mineworkers which saw the increase in wages. This deal helped avert mass retrechment in the sector.

  • Involved in the establishment of the Mineworkers Investment Company (MIC).

  • Involved in establishment of the JB Marks Educational Trust, which provides bursaries to mineworkers and their dependants.

  • Involved in establishment of the Trade Union School called "The Elijah Barayi Memorial Training Centre".

  • Involved in establishment of Mineworkers Development Agency which is responsible for developmental needs of ex-mineworkers and their dependants and the community as a whole.

  • Served on the Miners' International Federation, and involved in the exchange programmes with the United Mineworkers of Australia.

  • Responsible for re-establishing the legal structures of African National Congress (ANC) in the PWV region and elected its first Chairperson (1990).

  • Chairperson for the Strike Support Committee.

  • Secretary-General of the ANC (1997 - 2007).

  • Former Minister in the Presidency (12 July - 25 September 2008).

  • President of the Republic of South Africa from 25 September 2008 - May 2009.
Source: South African Government Information
High Commissioner
H.E. L Xingwana

Head of Mission
More Information
Statistics South Africa
South Africa Reserve Bank
South African Revenue Services
Johannesburg Stock Exchange
Government Online
South African Airways
South African Tourism
National Parks of South Africa
Wines of South Africa
South Africa Broadcasting Corporation
Trade and Investment of South Africa (TIISA)
© South African High Commission Accra | Disclaimer