English |  

About South Africa
Official Name : Republic of South Africa
Population : 51,77 million (Census 2011)
Area : 1 219 090 square kilometres
Political system :
Constitutional Democracy; partly unitary and partly federal. The power is shared between the central Government and the nine Provinces. The Parliament has two Chambers, the National Assembly and National Council of Provinces, with elections every five years. Each of the nine Provinces also have its own Provincial Government and Chamber.
Head of State        : President Jacob G. Zuma
Capitals : Cape Town (Legislative)
Pretoria (Administrative)
Bloemfontein (Judicial)
The Provinces : 9 provinces Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, Western Cape, Free State, Gauteng, Kwazulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Limpopo and North West Province
Languages : 11 official languages Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Pedi, Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu
English is widely spoken and is the business language
National Day : 27 April, in celebration of the first democratic elections
held in South Africa on 27 April 1994
Time Zone : GMT + 2 hours
The seasons          Summer : mid-October to mid-February
Autumn : February to April
Winter : May to July
Spring : August to October
Currency : Rand (R) 1 Rand is divided into 100 cents
Telephone indicator : + 27
International symbol : ZAR
Climate : Temperate, warm and sunny Summer  15ºC to 35ºC
Winter 0ºC -20ºC
Ambssador P Vermeulen
Head of Mission
South African Embassy,
Gárdonyi Géza u. 17,
1026 Budapest, Hungary
Tel:   +36 1 392-0999
Fax:  +36 1 200-7834
Embassy office hours
Monday – Thursday:
08:00 – 12:30 /
13:00 – 17:00
Friday: 08:00 – 12:45
Consular office hours
See Consular page
© South African Embassy Budapest, Hungary | Disclaimer