Issue 402 | 4 November 2019
If this newsletter doesn’t load or images don’t display, please click here
President Cyril Ramaphosa has expressed his elation at the Springboks’ triumph in the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan, saying “it's a great outcome”.
Speaking moments after the Springboks, led by captain, Siya Kolisi, beat England 32-12 at the International Stadium Yokohama, President Ramaphosa said: “The boys have outshone everyone in the world. They are the best; they are the best team".

When I spoke to them hours before the match, I could see in their eyes that they were really determined, and they have delivered a great victory. It was really Go Bokke!

“We are the champions; indeed, we are the champions of the world.”
The President congratulated captain, Siya Kolisi, coach, Rassie Erasmus, and the technical staff, the tournament squad, the team on the day and the leadership of SA Rugby for securing the Webb Ellis Trophy at the first Rugby World Cup to be staged in Asia.

“This is a historic moment for South Africa, for World Rugby and for Japan as the host nation and close partner of South Africa.

“This historic win has been achieved with the passionate support of more than 57 million South Africans who have been inspired by the Springboks’ performances throughout the tournament.
“This is a powerful indicator of what we can achieve as South Africans when we set goals for ourselves and we work together to achieve success.

“This is a moment of inspiration for all South Africans in all avenues of life and all sectors of our society. It is a moment that is embedded forever in our national memory.”

The President commended England as worthy finalists in Yokohama and said the World Cup result would ensure intense interest and competition in the 2021 tour of South Africa by the British and Irish Lions featuring the best players from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.
A stellar year for the Springboks was triumphantly crowned on Sunday evening when the team collected the three top awards in the World Rugby Awards at a glittering event in Tokyo.
Rassie Erasmus was named as Coach of the Year, the Springboks were named Team of the Year and Pieter-Steph du Toit was named as World Player of the Year.

The awards were rich reward for a year in which the Springboks completed the unprecedented double of winning both the Rugby World Cup and the Rugby Championship in the same season.

The team finished the year at No 1 in the world rankings, for the first time since 2009.

The Springboks won 10 out of 12 tests, scoring 424 points and 52 tries and conceding only 138 points and 10 tries – only four of them in seven matches at the Rugby World Cup.

Statistically, it was the most successful Springbok season since 1998 when the team was in the middle of a 17-match winning streak.

It was the first time South Africa had won any of the top three awards since 2009.

The titles came a little over 24 hours after the team had collected the Rugby World Cup for the first time since 2007, with a 32-12 win over England at the International Stadium Yokohama in Japan.

The Springboks were chosen in preference to fellow Rugby World Cup semi-finalists England, Wales, New Zealand and Japan.

The Coach of the Year nominees along with Erasmus were Eddie Jones (England), Warren Gatland (Wales), Steve Hansen (New Zealand) and Jamie Joseph (Japan).

Du Toit won the vote ahead of team mate Cheslin Kolbe, Tom Curry (England), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Ardie Savea (New Zealand) and Joe Taufete’e (United States of America).

South Africa was also nominated in two other categories.

Herschel Jantjies was listed with England wing Joe Cokanasiga and France flyhalf Romain Ntamack in the category of Breakthrough Player of the Year, for players who have appeared in less than a full international season. The award was won by the 20-year-old Ntamack who has established himself as his nation’s preferred flyhalf.

Cobus Reinach’s hat-trick try in the 66-7 demolition of Canada was nominated as one of the four tries of the year. TJ Perenara of New Zealand took the award for a length-of-the-field score involving several players against Namibia.

Other award winners:
  • Word Rugby Referee of the Year: Wayne Barnes (England)
  • Breakthrough Player of the Year: Romain Ntamack (France)
  • Women’s Sevens Player of the Year: Ruby Tui (New Zealand)
  • Men’s Sevens Player of the Year: Jerry Tui (Fiji).

 – Source:

Stay Connected with us
For back issues of NewsFlash, visit: