South Africa welcomes the Election of Ms Lindiwe Maseko, Gauteng MPL, as the Chairperson of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians

The Department of Foreign Affairs congratulates a senior member of the Legislative Assembly of the province of Gauteng, Hon. Lindiwe Maseko, MPL for her election as the Chairperson of the Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians(CWP) for the next three years. South Africa is a member of the Commonwealth and actively participates in its bodies such as the High Level Review Group, the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meetings (CHOGM) and its Ministerial Meetings.

Ms Maseko won the elections in voting among women Parliamentarians attending the 50th Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference from 29 August to 9 September 2004 in Canada. In this regard, Ms Maseko becomes the first directly elected representative of women Parliamentarians on the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) Executive Committee.

A former African Member of the CWP Steering Committee, Ms Maseko has been active in promoting the advancement of women Parliamentarians throughout the CPA. In South Africa, Ms Maseko has been a member of the Gauteng Legislature for the African National Congress since 1994. She currently chairs several committees and is a former Deputy Speaker and Whip. She was a Commonwealth election observer in Bangladesh, Nigeria and Zimbabwe.

Africa - stands proud as both its women and men continue to take important positions in bodies aimed at global governance. Her election follows the path of other strong African women such as President Getrude Mongella of the Pan African Parliament and Ms Sheila Makate Sisulu, the Deputy Executive Director of the UN World Food Programme based in Rome.

For more information, contact Nomfanelo Kota at 082 459 3787

Issued by the Department of Foreign Affairs
Private Bag x 152

30 September 2004


Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 30 September, 2004 9:01 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa