Media Programme for the State Visit to South Africa by Tanzanian President Benjamin Mkapa, 21-23 September 2005

Wednesday, 21 September 2005

15:00 Arrival of participating media for photo opportunity on arrival of President Mkapa in South Africa

Venue: Waterkloof Airforce Base

16:00 Arrival of President Benjamin Mkapa

Media in attendance

Thursday, 22 September 2005

10:00 Arrival of media for official welcome ceremony on arrival of President Benjamin Mkapa ahead of discussions with President Thabo Mbeki

Venue: Amphitheatre, Union Buildings

11:00 Arrival of President Mkapa and Mrs Mkapa at the Union Buildings
To be received by President Mbeki and Mrs Zanele Mbeki
Official welcome ceremony

Media in attendance

11:20 Discussions between President Thabo Mbeki and President Benjamin Mkapa

12:15 Arrival of media for signing ceremony and press conference on conclusion of discussions between President Mbeki and President Benjamin Mkapa

Venue: Media Centre
West Wing, Union Buildings

12:45 Signing Ceremony

  • The Avoidance of Double Taxation
  • Mutual Assistance on Customs
  • Investment Promotion and Protection
  • The Establishment of the Presidential Economic Commission between Tanzania and South Africa

Press Conference

19:30 Arrival of media for remarks by President Thabo Mbeki and President Benjamin Mkapa ahead of official dinner hosted by President Mbeki in honour of President Benjamin Mkapa

Venue: Presidential Guesthouse
Bryntirion Estate
(Enter through Gate 9 on Church Street)

20:00 Dinner hosted by President Thabo Mbeki in honour of President Benjamin Mkapa

Media to present press cards at all events to facilitate access

P/S Media in attendance for toasts

Issued by Department of Foreign Affairs

For further information contact

  • Vincent Hlongwane on 082 385 1169
  • David Hlabane on 082 561 9428
Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 21 September, 2005 9:24 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa