African Foreign Ministers begin Deliberations on the Reform of the United Nations

Abuja - South African Foreign Minister Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma is today Thursday, 9 June 2005 leading a South African delegation to the African Union Foreign Ministers (Committee of 10) Meeting on the Reform of the United Nations in Nigeria. The meeting began this morning in Abuja, Nigeria.

The Committee of 10 consists of Foreign Ministers of SA, Botswana, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Chad, Congo Brazzaville, Senegal, Benin, Algeria and Libya representing the five regions of the continent and is chaired by the Foreign Minister of Nigeria and includes Prof. Alpha Konare, AU Commission Chairperson and the Foreign Minister of Ghana.

The Foreign Ministers will meet to consider the Draft Resolution submitted by the G4 - Brazil, Germany, India and Japan- on the Reform of the United Nations Security Council. The G4 resolution calls for the expansion of the UN Security Council by six new permanent members and four additional non-permanent members.

Africa's position as adopted by the African Union's Executive Council calls for two permanent seats with a veto and five non-permanent member seats. The G4 Resolution is expected to be the subject of discussion and further consultations at the United Nations within the next few weeks.

The African Foreign Ministers' meeting is also expected to consider the Draft Report of the President of the UN General Assembly, Jean Ping regarding the proposed reform of the UN system.

Minister Dlamini Zuma will return to South Africa on Friday, 10 June 2005 before departing for Doha, Qatar where she will lead the South African delegation to the Ministerial Meeting of the G-77 + China scheduled for Monday, 13 June 2005 ahead of the Summit, to be attended by President Thabo Mbeki, scheduled for Tuesday - Thursday, 14-16 June 2005.

Issued by Ronnie Mamoepa on 082 990 4853.

Department of Foreign Affairs
Private Bag X152

9 June 2005

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 9 June, 2005 1:51 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa