Minister Dlamini Zuma Signs Binational Commission Agreement with Argentina

NEW YORK: South African Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma yesterday Sunday 18 September signed a Joint South Africa-Argentina Binational Commission Agreement with her Argentinian counterpart Dr. Rafael Bielsa.

The Binational Commission Agreement creates a legal framework through which political, economic and trade relations between the two countries can find legal expression and be regulated.

Minister Dlamini Zuma is currently leading a South African Government delegation to the remaining sessions of the 60th General Assembly of the United Nations, following the departure of President Thabo Mbeki, ahead of the three-day state visit to South Africa by the Tanzanian President, Benjamin Mkapa beginning from 23rd September 2005.

In addition, Minister Dlamini Zuma represented South Africa at two separate Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) Ministerial discussions on Palestine firstly with the French Foreign Minister Philippe Douste-Blazy and secondly with the Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov.

Today, Monday 19 September, Minster Dlamini Zuma will hold three separate bilateral discussions with her Ghanaian, DRC and Algerian counterparts before attending a trilateral meeting between South Africa, Nigeria and Ecowas hosted by the UN Under-Secretary-General of Peacekeeping Operations, Jean-Marie Guehenno.

Furthermore Minister Dlamini Zuma will lead the South African government delegation to the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) Troika Ministerial meeting consisting of the current, former and incoming Chairperson of the NAM (SA, Malaysia and Cuba) with the European Union Troika (UK, Austria and the EU Commission).

Issued by Ronnie Mamoepa at +27 82 990 4853

South African Mission to the UN - New York

19 September 2005

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 19 September, 2005 11:06 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa