Deputy President Jacob Zuma to lead South African Delegation to World Economic Forum in Jordan, Friday, 20 - Saturday, 22 May 2005

Pretoria - South African Deputy President Jacob Zuma will lead a senior South African government delegation to the World Economic Forum (WEF) with the theme, "Seizing the Moment," at the Dead Sea in Jordan from Friday - Saturday, 20-21 May 2005.

Deputy President Zuma's delegation will include Ministers Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka and Mandisi Mpahlwa and Deputy Minister Aziz Pahad.

Deputy President Zuma will participate in a panel discussion on Saturday, 21 May 2005 entitled, "Seizing the Moment: People Power and Change in the Middle East."

This session will focus on the already held national elections in Iraq and the Palestinian territories, with elections to be held in Lebanon and Egypt and the movement towards democracy in the Arab World.

Other sessions will include, among others

  • Seizing the Moment: The Global Investor Perspective
  • Vision 2010: Education for a Modern Economy
  • Connecting "People" and "Power" - Civil Society and Reform
  • Survival of the Fittest: Competition and Change in the Financial Sector
  • Vision 2010: The Arab World in the Global Economy
  • Enabling Transnational Co-operation for Infrastructure Development
  • Global Security and the Middle East
  • Discontent, Terrorism and the Silent Majority
  • Feeding the Dragon: The Middle East, Oil and the Chinese Boom
  • Harnessing Global Trade for the Middle East; and
  • Tourism as an Engine for Reconstruction and Peace.

Deputy President Zuma is expected to return to South Africa on Sunday, 22 May 2005 ahead of the funeral of the late mother of Foreign Minister Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma in Kwazulu Natal.

Issued by Ronnie Mamoepa on 082 990 4853.

Department of Foreign Affairs
Private Bag X152

18 May 2005

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 18 May, 2005 3:46 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa