National Orders Ceremony

President Thabo Mbeki, as the Patron of the National Orders, will bestow National Orders on outstanding South African citizens at a prestigious event to be held on 27 September 2006, at the Union Buildings in Tshwane, from 10h00.

The event will honour and recognise South Africans who have accomplished excellence and exceptional achievement to the benefit of the country and through their acts gave expression to government's commitment to improve the lives of South Africans in this "Age of Hope". This will be the eighth ceremony whereby 28 recipients will be conferred the country's highest awards. Amongst those who will be honoured on Wednesday, 27 September 2006, are Don Mattera, Can Themba, Andre Brink, Ryk Neethling, Roland Schoeman, Alan Paton and Tiyo Soga. These outstanding South Africans will receive the Order of Ikhamanga.

The orders to be awarded on the day are the following:

  • Order of Mapungubwe - awarded to South African citizens for achievements that have impacted internationally and served the interest of the Republic of South Africa.
  • Order of Ikhamanga - awarded to citizens who have excelled in the fields of arts and culture, literature, journalism and sport.
  • Mendi Decoration for Bravery - awarded to South Africans who have performed acts of bravery, who in the process, would have lost their lives or may have placed their lives in great danger in their efforts to save others.

The event will be attended by Chancellor of the National Orders, Reverend Frank Chikane, members of the Advisory Council on National Orders, recipients and family members as well several Cabinet Ministers.

NB: Members of the media are requested to submit their names and identity numbers (ID) numbers for accreditation purposes by Friday, 22 September 2006.


Malerato Sekha
Tel: (012) 300 5447
Cell: 082 467 8579

Matome Sebelebele
Tel: (012) 314 23121
Cell: 072 710 1814

Issued by: The Presidency and Government Communications (GCIS)
21 September 2006

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 22 September, 2006 1:46 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa