Whether the African Union and its agencies have a country quota for employment of its officials


QUESTION NO:      959


Mr L.D Labuschagne of the Democratic Alliance (MP) will ask the Minister of Foreign Affairs

(1)     Whether the African Union and its agencies have a country quota for employment of its officials; if not, why not; if so, what are the relevant details;

(2)    (a) What is the South African quota and (b) and to what extent is it taken up? N1408E


  • In accordance with the Revised Maputo Structure, member states of the African Union are allocated a quota of posts to be occupied within the African Union structures.
  • (a) As at January 2006 during the African Union Summit in Sudan, South Africa had a quota of 17

posts at all levels to be filled.

(b) Thus far, the South African government has seconded the following officials to the African Union


Mr B Mtimkhulu : Director: Peace Support Operations;

Mr D Dhlomo : Director: Commission for Intelligence and Security Services of Africa (CISSA);

Mr Z Mkalipi :Administrative Officer: Commission for Intelligence and Security Services for Africa (CISSA);

Col RE Matsivandela :Chief Military Liaison Officer

Captain F Manyaka : Geographic Information Systems;

Sergeant F Bowers : Geographic Information Specialist

Ms Caron Kgomo : Deputy Director: Special Advisor to the Rapporteur on the Rights of Women in Africa

With regard to the outstanding posts to be filled by South Africa, the Director General of the Department of Foreign Affairs is currently engaging his counterparts through the International Relations Peace and Security Cluster Forums of Directors General to identify suitable candidates for secondment to the African Union Commission. The secondment of South Africans to this institution is done through the implementation of the Interim National Secondment Policy, which policy should be reviewed in two years.

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 26 March, 2007 2:36 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa