SADC Ministers to meet today, Friday 18 July 2008 in Durban

Durban The SADC Ministers of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security, hosted by Minister of Foreign Affairs. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma will later today, Friday 18 July 2008 begin their deliberations at the Durban International Conference Centre. The meeting will be chaired by the Angolan Foreign Minister in his capacity as the current Chair of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Co-operation and will wind its deliberations on Sunday 20 July 2008.

The meeting will deliberate upon the Interstate Defence and Security Committee (ISDSC) issues particularly on progress made by the Police, Defence, Public Security and State Security Sectors.  Also on the agenda will be discussions on the operationalisation of the SADC BRIGADE that was launched on 17 August 2007 at the SADC Summit as well as the launch of the Regional Early Warning centre scheduled for December 2008.

The meeting will also focus attention on Interstate Politics and Diplomacy (ISPDC) issues including areas of concern such as the political situation in Malawi, the security situation in the Democratic Republic of Congo, the mediation process by Sir Ketumile Masire in the Kingdom of Lesotho and the post electoral situation in the Republic of Zimbabwe. 

In conclusion, the SADC Ministers are expected to prepare a report for the Chair of the Organ, Angolan President Jose Eduardo Dos Santos, who will then present it to the SADC Summit scheduled for August in South Africa for consideration.

The Ministerial meeting was preceded by a meeting of Senior Officials which began their deliberations on Wednesday 16 July to prepare reports and proposals for the Ministerial meeting.

Issued by Ronnie Mamoepa on 082 990 4853

Department of Foreign Affairs
Private Bag X152

18 July 2008


Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 18 July, 2008 8:30 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa