Deputy Minister Concludes South Africa-Cuba 7TH Joint Consultative Mechanism (JCM) Meeting.

Havana – International Relations and Cooperation Deputy Minister Ebrahim Ebrahim today, 24 the June 2009, concluded the 7th South Africa  - Cuba Joint Consultative Mechanism (JCM) Meeting held with his Cuban counterpart HE Marcos Rodriguez Costa from 23 -24 June 2009, in Havana.

The 7th JCM focused on the following areas:

-  Domestic political and socio-economic issues in both countries. 
-  Regional issues including developments in Africa and Latin America
-  Multilateral issues namely, developments within the Non Aligned Movement (NAM), South Africa’s (Ambassador Abdul Minty) International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Candidature, UN Resolutions with regard to Cuba, UN Human Rights Council, Durban Review Conference and International Financial and Economic Crisis.

The two countries expressed satisfaction at the level of relations, particularly bilateral and multilateral cooperation, with South Africa particularly expressing its appreciation for Cuba’s support of its IAEA candidature. The JCM resolved to redouble efforts in preparation for the next session of the Joint Bilateral Commission (JBC) to be held later in the year.

 The JCM was held against the solid bilateral and fraternal relations established during the past 15 years of official diplomatic relations. Both countries have consistently confirmed the important and critical role played by one of this significant mechanism existing between the two countries, which convenes annually.

Deputy Minister Ebrahim is expected conclude his visit to Cuba by laying a wreath at the Pantheon of the Internationalists who died in Africa, at the Colon Cemetery in Havana.

Issued by the Department of International Relations and Cooperation

Private Bag x152

24 June 2009

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 25 June, 2009 3:48 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa