Inauguration: Arrivals of Foreign Dignitaries: Update 1

Pretoria- Twenty nine Heads of State and Government and seven Deputy Presidents from around the world are expected to witness the inauguration of South Africa’s fourth democratically-elected President Jacob Zuma scheduled for Saturday 9 May at the Union Buildings, Pretoria.

The Inauguration is organised around the theme: “Together celebrating a vibrant democracy and building a better life for all.”  The Inauguration is a culmination of positive mood generated by the success of South Africa’s fourth democratic elections. It will also be a moment of great pride for the nation and an opportunity for celebration of our democratic values and system of governance.  

The Inauguration Ceremony provides South Africa with an excellent opportunity to express its gratitude to many people across the world who have shared both difficult and happy moments with the people of South Africa. 

In this regard, several Heads of State and Government have begun arriving at Oliver Tambo International Airport to bear witness during the inauguration ceremony. These include at this stage:

Presidents: Laurent Gbagbo (Cote d’ Ivoire), Jikaya Kikwete (Tanzania), Theodore Nguema (Equatorial Guinea) and James Michel (Seychelles) 

Deputy Presidents: Rafael Alburquerque (Dominican Republic), Joseph Boakai (Liberia), Didjob di Ndinge (Gabon), Noli de Castro of Philippines

Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ratnasisri Wickramanayaka and

His Majesties King Mswati III of Swaziland and King Letsie III of Lesotho.

Issued by Ronnie Mamoepa at 082-990-4853

Department of foreign Affairs
P/Bag X152
8 May 2001

NB: 2nd Update of arrivals expected at about 18h00.



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 8 May, 2009 2:00 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa