Arrival of Foreign Dignitaries ahead of Presidential Inauguration: Update 3

Pretoria With less than 24 hours to go before the country witnesses the inauguration of the 4th democratically elected President Jacob Zuma, the South African government confirms that as of 20h00 the following Heads of State and Government have arrived:

  1. President of Burundi Pierre Nkurunziza
  2. President of Cape Verde Pedro Verona Rodriques Pires
  3. President of Nigeria Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’Adua
  4. President of Uganda Yoweri Museveni;
  5. President of Rwanda Paul Kagame; and
  6. President of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea Yong Nam Kim.

Delegations are still expected from Iran, Guinea-Bissau and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Earlier today the following Heads of State and Government arrived:

  1. Ethiopian President –Girma Wolde
  2. Libyan Leader and AU Chairperson Muammar Gaddafi
  3. Kenyan President –Mwai Kibaki
  4. Mozambican President –Armando Guebuza
  5. Zimbabwean President –Robert Mugabe
  6. Namibian President –Hikifunye Pohamba
  7. Angolan President- Eduardo dos Santos
  8. Zambian President Rupiah Banda
  9. President of Congo Brazzaville- Denis Sassou-Nguesso
  10. President of Côte dÍvoire – Laurent Gbagbo
  11. President of Tanzania – Jakaya Kikwete
  12. President of Equatorial Guines – Theodore Nguema
  13. President of Seychelles – James Michel
  14. Indian Vice President –Mohammed Hamid Ansari
  15. Deputy President of the Dominican Republic Rafael Alburquerque
  16. Deputy President of Liberia Joseph Boakai
  17. Deputy President of Gabon Didjob di Ndinge
  18. Vice President of Philippines Noli de Castro
  19. Prime Minister of Sri Lanka Ratnasisri Wickramanayaka and
  20. His Majesties King Mswati III of Swaziland and King Letsie III of Lesotho

The Inauguration Ceremony, organised around the theme “Together celebrating a vibrant democracy and building a better life for all,” on Saturday 9 May 2009 will be attended by Heads of State and Government, eminent persons, foreign ministers, members of parliament, the diplomatic corps based in South Africa, representatives from the length and breadth of South African society and members of the public.

Foreign Heads of State and Government, Foreign Ministers and other international guests will join 5000 South African guests and an estimated 30000 members of the public to witness President-elect Jacob Zuma take the oath of office as he commences his term as the 4th democratically elected President of South Africa.

Issued by Ronnie Mamoepa at 082-990-4853

Department of Foreign Affairs
P/Bag X152

8 May 2009



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 11 May, 2009 9:30 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa