President Jacob Zuma to attend 21st Summit of the NEPAD Heads of the State, Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC), and African Peer Review (APR) Forum

Sirte, Libya - Upon his arrival in Sirte, Libya, South African President Jacob Zuma accompanied by Minister of International Relations and Cooperation Ms Maite Nkoana- Mashabane; Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Ms Tina Joemat-Pettersson, Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs Ms Buyelwa Sonjica and Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration Mr Roy Padayachie, is scheduled to participate in both NEPAD and the African Peer Review Mechanism (APR Forum) meetings scheduled for 30th June 2009.

The 21st Summit of the NEPAD Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee (HSGIC) will be addressed by Prime Minister Meles Zenawi, Chairperson of the NEPAD Heads of State and Government Implementation Committee and Prime Minister of Ethiopia as well as the African Union Commission Chairperson, Dr. Jean Ping.

The NEPAD Meeting will also consider the following:

  • Presentation of the Activity Report of the NEPAD Secretariat by the Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Ibrahim Assane Mayaki, which will look at the revision of the AU/ NEPAD African Action Plan,

  • Integration of NEPAD into the structures and processes of the African Union,

  • Recommendation of the HSGIC on the AU/ NEPAD Integration.

Preparations for the G8/ Africa Outreach in L'Aquila, Italy (9 - 10 July 2009) will also be discussed.

  • Outcomes of consultations with Italian G8 Presidency,

  • Highlights of the 12th Africa Partnership Forum, Rome, June 10, 2009,

  • Date and Venue of the 22nd NEPAD HSGIC Summit.


Upon conclusion of the NEPAD Meeting, President Jacob Zuma supported by International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana - Mashabane will participate in the APR Forum.

This 11th Summit of the APR Forum will peer - review the following countries:

  • Mali
  • Mozambique and
  • Kingdom of Lesotho

Prime Minister Meles Zenawi, who is also the Chairperson of the APR Forum, will present his Opening Remarks, followed by a welcome to the Heads of State by the Chairperson of the AU Commission, Dr. Jean Ping.

The Statement on the Progress Report of the APR Panel will be presented by Professor Adebayo Adedeji, Chairperson of the APR Panel.

Issued by: Nomfanelo Kota on + 27 82 459 3787 or

SA Embassy in Tripoli

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 29 June, 2009 9:57 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa