Minister Charles Nqakula to lead South African Delegation to the SADC Organ Troika Meeting in Swaziland to discuss Developments in Madagascar, 19 March 2009

Pretoria- South African Minister of Defence, Charles Nqakula will on Thursday 19 March 2009 lead a South African government delegation to the SADC Organ Troika on Politics, Defence and Security Co-operation scheduled for Mbabane, Swaziland.

The SADC Organ Troika meeting is convened specifically to discuss the current situation and developments in Madagascar following the resignation of President Marc Ravalomanana on Tuesday 18 March and the hand-over of power to the military.

In his reaction to these developments, South African President and current Chairperson of SADC, President Kgalema Motlanthe expressed regret at the resignation of President Ravalomanana of Madagascar and the handing over of power to the Military Directorate.

“Of particular concern are the unconstitutional attempts undertaken by the opposition that led to the resignation of the democratically elected President of a SADC member country. South Africa and SADC will never countenance the unconstitutional transfer of power from a democratically elected government in any of our member-states” said President Motlanthe.

“In this regard, SADC urges all role players in Madagascar to resolve their differences through negotiations aimed at ensuring that a solution is found, which is constitutional and will restore peace and stability on the island, as a matter of priority” continued President Motlanthe.

“Accordingly, we call on all stake-holders to refrain from taking any action that may be unconstitutional, inconsistent with the democratic values of our region and the continent or lead to further loss of lives, injury or destruction of property” concluded President Motlanthe

Issued by Ronnie Mamoepa at 082-990-4853

Department of Foreign Affairs
P/Bag X152

18 March 2009.



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 18 March, 2009 2:14 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa