Minister Dlamini Zuma to lead South African Delegation to the 8th Meeting of the SA-EU Ministerial Troika

Pretoria – Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma will on Friday 16 January 2009 host the 8th South Africa – European Union Ministerial Troika meeting in Kleinmond, Western Cape.

Minister Dlamini Zuma’s delegation is expected to include Ministers Marthinus van Schalkwyk, Mandisi Mpahlwa and Deputy Finance Minister Nhlanhla Nene.  The European Union delegation will include the Foreign Minister of the Czech Republic Karel Schwarzenberg, and Louis Michel, EU Commissioner for Development and Humanitarian Aid.

Minister Dlamini-Zuma will co-chair this 8th Ministerial meeting between South Africa and the European Union with a view to further strengthening South Africa’s strategic cooperation with the EU, as well as to address African and global issues and concerns.

The 8th Ministerial Troika meeting is expected to consider:

  • The EU-SADC EPA negotiations;
  • The Joint Africa-EU Strategy;
  • The 2nd South Africa – European Union Summit later in the year;
  • The global financial crisis and its impact on the developing world;
  • Environment and Climate Change;
  • Food Security, and
  • Energy

Furthermore, the Ministerial Troika will also discuss a range of African and global peace and security issues, including the Democratic Republic of Congo and Great Lakes situation;  Chad & Sudan, Somalia, the Middle East Peace Process, and Zimbabwe. 

The 8th Ministerial Troika between the European Union and South Africa will conclude later on Friday 16 January 2009 ahead of Minister Dlamini Zuma’s discussions with her Chinese counterpart.

SA-EU Economic Relations

  • The EU is the world’s largest trading bloc and generates 30% of global GDP and 20% of global trade flows. It is also the world’s biggest aid donor to poor and developing countries, contributing approximately half of global aid.
  • In 2007 South Africa’s exports to the EU-27 totalled R152,6 Billion. The EU also ranked as South Africa’s number one export region for 2007.
  • Europe remains the principal source of Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) in South Africa, accounting for around 80% of total FDI in 2005.
  • The EU is South Africa’s largest development partner, representing approximately 70% of all Overseas Development Assistance, with South Africa earmarked to receive € 980 million during the period 2007-2013.

Media Programme for South Africa – European Union Ministerial Troika Meeting
Friday 16 January 2009

Issued by Ronnie Mamoepa on 082 990 4853

Department of Foreign Affairs
Private Bag X152

14 January 2009

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 14 January, 2009 4:38 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa