President Jacob Zuma to pay a Working Visit to Namibia, 04 November 2010.

The President of the Republic of South Africa, His Excellency Jacob Zuma will at the invitation of President Hifekepunye Pohamba, pay a working visit to Windhoek, Namibia on 4 November 2010. The working visit takes place within the context of the Heads of State Economic Bilateral (HOSEB) between South Africa and Namibia.

The annual Heads of State Economic Bilateral meetings alternate between South Africa and Namibia and is presided by the two Presidents and the last meeting was hosted by South Africa in November 2009. President Zuma will be accompanied by Government Ministers and Senior Government Officials.  The Department of Trade and Industry is the lead Department as regards all aspects of the organisation of the HOSEB.

This meeting will occasion the 11th session of HOSEB since its inception in 1999. This forum was established by mutual consent between the Presidents of South Africa and Namibia and there is no Memorandum of Understanding or a signed Agreement pertaining to the establishment of the Heads of State Economic Bilateral.

The meeting will review progress made thus far, and further add impetus by promoting mutual economic cooperation, trade coordination and development as identified and agreed upon. 

The Heads of State Economic Bilateral focuses on joint economic cooperation, and may further cover co-operation ranging from the environment, in particular Transfrontier Parks; Marine and Coastal Management; Transport and Communication Issues; Agriculture; Energy; Science and Technology; Trade and Industry; Spatial Development Initiatives; and issues relating to regional integration.

South Africa and Namibia‘s bilateral relations have over the last decade registered considerable progress and this is evidenced by 54 agreements covering co-operation across the socio-economic and political spectrum.

President Zuma will be supported by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies, Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, Ms Tina Joemat-Pettersson, Minister of Energy, Ms Elizabeth Dipuo Peters, Minister of Transport, Mr S Ndebele, Minister of Tourism, Mr Marthinus Van Schalkwyk, Minister of Science Technology, Ms Naledi Pandor, Minister of Mineral Resource, Ms Susan Shabangu.

For further information, please contact DIRCO’s Chief Director for Public Diplomacy, Mr Saul Kgomotso Molobi, on 082 940 1647/ or Chief Director of Communications in the Presidency, Ms Zanele Mngadi, at 082 330 1148.

Issued by the Department of international Relations and Cooperation
OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road
Pretoria, RSA

2 November 2010

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 2 November, 2010 9:31 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa