Press Statement on Minister Chabane’s attendance of the Inauguration of President Omar Al-Bashir of the Republic of the Sudan to be held in Khartoum on 27 May 2010

Mr Collins Chabane, Minister in the Presidency responsible for Monitoring and Evaluation will represent the Government of South Africa at the inauguration of President Al-Bashir in Khartoum, Republic of the Sudan, on 27 May 2010.

The Sudan held its general elections on 11-15 April 2010, which the African Union (AU) noted took place in a relatively peaceful environment. In his congratulatory message to President Al-Bashir, President Zuma commended the Sudanese people for successfully completing this important first step in the democratic transformation of the Sudan. President Zuma further extended his congratulations to President Omar Al-Bashir on his election as President of the Republic of the Sudan and Salva Kiir Mayadirt as President of the Government of Southern Sudan.  President Zuma further reiterated the government’s commitment to support the Sudanese political role-players as they continue their efforts to put Sudan on the path of peace, stability, democracy and economic development.

The next months will be a critical period in the history of the sister country of the Sudan. The implementation of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement will culminate in the holding of a historic referendum on the unity of the Sudan in which the people of Southern Sudan will decide on whether they remain part of the Sudan or form an independent state. The Republic of South Africa stands ready to support the Sudanese people as they complete this historic task.

For more information contact Mr Mahlatse Mminele on +27 82 889 9432 or +27 12 351 1000
Issued by the Department of International Relations and Cooperation (the dirco)
Private Bag x 152

Thursday, 27 May 2010

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 27 May, 2010 4:09 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa