Media Statement on 5th IBSA Dialogue Forum

President Jacob Zuma will host the Fifth India-Brazil-South Africa (IBSA) Dialogue Forum, scheduled to take place on Tuesday, 18 October 2011, at the Presidential Guesthouse in Pretoria. The Summit will be preceded by an IBSA Ministerial Meeting on Monday, 17 October 2011.

The objectives of the Summit are to promote South-South cooperation as well as trade and investment opportunities amongst the three countries. 

The realisation of a trilateral alliance between India, Brazil and South Africa stems from three commonalities between the three countries, namely: all three countries are vibrant democracies; share common views on various global issues; and are substantial emerging economies within their sub-regions.

The combined population of the three IBSA countries comprised of 1.384 billion people in 2008 with a combined average growth of 5.4%.

Apart from promoting South-South dialogue, IBSA also fosters inter-regional cooperation.

The engagement process of the IBSA countries takes place on three levels, namely: Heads of State and Government, Government-to-Government and People-to-People cooperation.

South Africa’s trade with its IBSA partners has increased significantly since the Forum’s inception. South Africa’s trade statistics for period 2007 – 2010 with fellow IBSA countries shows an increase in overall trade from R36.920 billion in 2007 to R58.133 billion in 2010.


Date: 18 October 2011

Venue: Presidential Guesthouse, Pretoria

Activity One: Opening remarks (open to media)

Time: 11h30

Activity Two: Press briefing by heads of state

Time: 14h00

Statement by Mr. Clayson Monyela, spokesperson for DIRCO

For further information, please contact Nelson Kgwete on 076 608 8567  


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road

16 October 2011

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 17 October, 2011 7:56 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa