Deputy Minister Fransman to co-chair the Fifth Policy Consultative Forum with 1st Vice Minister Park-Suk-hwan of the Republic of Korea

Pretoria- International Relations and Cooperation Deputy Minister Marius Fransman will co-chair the fifth (5th) Policy Consultative forum (PCF) with the South Korean 1st Vice Minister of Foreign and Trade Park-Suk-hwan scheduled for 10 June 2011 in Pretoria.

The Policy Consultative Forum will take place within the context of promoting the already important bilateral relations and strengthening the strategic co-operative relations between the two countries. The visit by the 1st Vice Minister is also part of the preparation for a possible visit by the South Korean President Mr. Lee Myung-Bak in South Africa later in the year.

A significant attempt to structure bilateral relations led to the establishment of a Policy Consultative Forum (PCF) between the two countries in April 1997. The first PCF took place in 2003, in South Africa and the follow up meeting in June 2004 in Seoul. The third PCF held, in 2005 Pretoria, gave new impetus to the relations. The PCF held in December 2008 in Seoul further strengthened relations between the two countries.

Accordingly, it is expected that during the meeting the two principals will amongst others deal with the following objectives:-

  • Strengthening and deepening bilateral relations following the 4th PCF held during 2008, in Seoul;

  • Seeking enhanced cooperation in the energy sector;

  • Coordinating Skills Development and Training programmes and initiatives; and

  • Enhancing co-operation in the Multilateral Arena.

Formal diplomatic relations between South Africa and the Republic of Korea were established in December 1992. Increasingly the main focus of the bilateral relationship is on economic and business links. Today South Korea is South Africa's 4th largest trading partner in Asia and South Africa is South Korea's largest trading partner in Africa. Trade between South Africa and South Korea encompasses a broad range of products from minerals to sophisticated high-technology electric and electronic products.

Deputy Minister Fransman will be supported by senior government officials from the following departments: Department of Defence; Department of Energy; Department of Trade and Industry; Department of Home Affairs; Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries; Department of Mineral Resources; and South African Local Government Association (SALGA).

For further information please contact Mr. Clayson Monyela spokesperson for DIRCO on 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road

09 June 2011

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 9 June, 2011 2:16 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa