South Africa votes yes in support of an end to the No - Fly Zone in Libya by adopting Resolution 2016 of 2011

Pretoria: South Africa and the other 14 members of United Nations Security Council have unanimously adopted Resolution 2016 of 2011 which lifts the No Fly Zone imposed by Resolution 1973 in Libya. Resolution 2016 effectively ends NATO's role as from one minute before midnight on 31 October 2011.

Speaking in New York after the adoption of the Resolution, South Africa's Ambassador to the United Nations, Baso Sangqu said "South Africa has taken note of the events of the last few weeks, including the death of Colonel Muammar Gaddafi. As President Jacob Zuma has stated, South Africa would have preferred Gaddafi to be captured and given an opportunity to stand trial in a Court of Law to answer for his actions".

South Africa hopes that these latest developments will lead to a cessation of hostilities and the restoration of peace. It is our view that a lasting and sustainable peace is only possible through an all - inclusive political process, culminating in the first - ever democratic elections in accordance with the Roadmap announced by the National Transitional Council.

We urge the NTC to begin in earnest the process of building national unity and reconciliation as well as the disarmament of all combatants and their reintegration into society.

The South African Government remains committed to work together with the African Union, the United Nations, the League of Arab States and the Organization of Islamic Conference to ensure coordinated support to the NTC and the Libyan people in general  in their endeavours to reconstruct their country and to bring about democratic, political and socio-economic changes.

For more information, contact Mr Clayson Monyela, Dirco Spokesperson at 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road

28 October 2011

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 28 October, 2011 3:51 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa