President Zuma to lead South African Delegation to the Fourth SA-EU Summit

Pretoria –President Jacob Zuma will lead a senior South African Government delegation to the 4th South Africa-European Union (SA-EU) Summit, scheduled for Thursday, 15 September 2011, in the Kruger National Park.  

The Summit will take place within the context of the on-going political dialogue (the Mogôbagôba Dialogue) under the auspices of the SA-EU Strategic Partnership and the SA-EU Trade, Development and Cooperation Agreement (TDCA).

The Summit will seek to build on the positive progress that has been made since the partnership was initiated. 

The primary objectives of these joint discussions are to further deepen SA-EU relations and to address issues of mutual interest and concern, including the key government priorities, namely: health, education, rural development, job creation and combating crime.

Issues on the agenda for the Summit will include, among others:

  • Progress on the implementation of the SA-EU Strategic partnership;
  • Climate Change and upcoming COP17;
  • The on-going negotiations on the SADC-EU Economic Partnership Agreements; and
  • Peace and Security in Africa and the Middle East

South Africa and the EU are both fully committed to a vision of an African Continent which is prosperous, peaceful, democratic, non-racial, non-sexist and united, and which contributes to a world that is just and equitable. The EU fully supports South Africa's commitment to the African Agenda, including the African Union and its socio-economic programme, NEPAD. 
Both partners are also committed to ensuring that the interests of developing and emerging countries are addressed. Both partners agree that the Strategic Partnership will be supportive of regional integration in SADC and the proposed Joint EU-Africa Strategy.

The high-level South African delegation comprises of Government Ministers, including Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane (International Relations and Cooperation), Minister Lindiwe Sisulu (Defence and Military Veterans) Minister Naledi Pandor (Science and Technology), Minister Edna Molewa (Water and Environmental Affairs), Minister Rob Davies (Trade and Industry) and Minister Pravin Gordhan (Finance).

The EU delegation for the Summit will be led by the President of the European Council, President Herman Van Rompuy, and the President of the European Commission, President José Manuel Barosso. High Representative Catherine Ashton, Commissioner Karel De Gucht (Trade) and Commissioner Andris Piebalgs (Development) will also attend on the EU side.

Statement by Mr Clayson Monyela, spokesperson for the Department of International Relations and Cooperation

For further information please contact Nelson Kgwete on 076 608 8567


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road

14 September 2011

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 14 September, 2011 8:46 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa