Press Statement

08 June 2012

The South African Government congratulates the Kingdom of Lesotho Prime Minister, Mr Motsoahae Thomas Thabane

The South African Government has noted the announcement of a coalition by a number of political parties which took part in the Lesotho National Assembly elections held on the 26th of May 2012, leading to Mr Motsoahae Thomas Thabane appointed as the new Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Lesotho. 

The South African Government extends its sincere congratulations to Prime Minister Thomas Thabane on his election. In this regard, the South African Government wishes to reaffirm its desire to further enhance its strong relations with the Kingdom of Lesotho.

Furthermore, the South African Government reiterates its commitment to continue working with the Government and the people of the Kingdom of Lesotho with a strong emphasis on devising mechanisms and processes to ensure rapid development in existing and new bilateral projects for the mutual benefit of the two countries.  

South Africa remains committed to regional integration and sees the Kingdom of Lesotho as a strategic partner in the pursuit of development as aligned with the principles of the African Union and NEPAD.

For further information please contact Mr. Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for DIRCO, on 082 884 5974.

Issued by the Department of International Relations and Cooperation

OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road

08 June 2012

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 8 June, 2012 3:05 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa