Press release

17 October 2012

President Zuma to host Prime Minister Tom Thabane of Lesotho

President Jacob Zuma will host the Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Lesotho, The Right Honourable Motsoahae Thomas Thabane, for a Working Visit on 18 October 2012. 

Prime Minister Thabane will be accompanied by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs, Energy, Trade, Finance and Home Affairs.

The meeting between the two leaders takes place in the context of promoting the African Agenda, strengthening bilateral relations between the two countries and increasing trade and investment. 

Bilateral cooperation between South Africa and Lesotho spans a wide range of areas including, but not limited to, trade and investment, security, energy, transport, agriculture, tourism, water, as well as environment.

South Africa and Lesotho recently agreed on the commencement of the construction of Phase II of the Lesotho Highlands Water Project. The Lesotho Highlands Water Project has been in operation for over 20 years and supplies South Africa with approximately 780 million cubic meters of water per annum. When fully operational, Phase II of the Project will substantially increase the volume of water supplied to South Africa.

South African companies have a significant presence in Lesotho and are involved in various sectors such as housing, food and beverages, construction, retail, hotels and leisure, banking, and medical services.

It is expected that President Zuma will be supported by the Ministers of International Relations and Cooperation; Trade and Industry; Water and Environmental Affairs; Energy; Home Affairs; and Finance.

For further information, please contact Mr Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for DIRCO, on +27 82 884 5974

Issued by the Department of International Relations and Cooperation

OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road





Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 17 October, 2012 12:25 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa