Press Release

29 February 2012

Minister Nkoana-Mashabane to participate in SADC Council of Ministers Meeting in Angola

International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane will lead a South African government delegation to the SADC Council of Ministers Meeting, scheduled for 01-02 March 2012 in Angola.

The SADC Council of Ministers Meeting is a statutory meeting of the regional body which convenes twice annually before the SADC Heads of State and Government Summit.

The meeting usually examines the performance of SADC institutions and approves its work programme and budget for the next fiscal year. The meeting also reviews the overall implementation of the SADC socio-economic programmes in preparation for the annual ordinary SADC Summit.

The Republic of Angola is the current Chair of the SADC after taking over from the Republic of Namibia during the 31st Ordinary Summit of SADC Heads of State and Government held in Luanda, Angola, in August 2011.

SADC continues to serve as the primary vehicle for the South African foreign policy in relation to regional development and integration within Southern Africa.

South Africa’s future remains inextricably linked to the future of the African continent and that of its neighbours in Southern Africa.

SADC strives for balanced and equitable regional integration as a fundamental condition for sustainable development in the region and to free the people of the region from the scourges of unemployment, poverty and underdevelopment.

South Africa is one of the 15 member states of SADC, which includes Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.  Madagascar is currently suspended pending the restoration of constitutional and democratic order in that country.

The South African delegation includes the Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies, and senior government officials.

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for the Department of International Relations and Cooperation, 082 884 5974

Issued by the Department of International Relations and Cooperation

OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road

Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 29 February, 2012 8:57 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa