Press Release

28 September 2012

President Zuma congratulates Sudan and South Sudan on agreements reached

President Jacob Zuma lauds the efforts of President Omar Al-Bashir and President Salva Kiir Mayardit on delivering a mutually agreed comprehensive settlement on security, soft borders, oil transportation and economic cooperation, as mediated by the African Union High Level Implementation Panel (AUHIP).

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank both Presidents for the leadership demonstrated by them in achieving this milestone. We applaud the leaders and express our heartfelt gratitude to all role-players and mediators who worked tirelessly through difficult times to achieve these agreements,” President Zuma said.

In congratulating both leaders on the signing of the agreements in Addis Ababa, President Zuma emphasized the need to seize the momentum created in reaching this positive outcome by employing the same resolve in negotiating and finalising the other outstanding matters.

“We are confident that Sudan and South Sudan through the implementation of these agreements will introduce a new era of increased cooperation and mutually beneficial coexistence of the peoples of Sudan and South Sudan,” he said.

This landmark agreement bears testament that both Sudan and South Sudan choose peace and are well capable of resolving their challenges.  The close collaboration between the African Union Peace and Security Council (AUPSC) and the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) has resulted positively in this instant and set the tone for future collaboration.

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for the Department of International Relations and Cooperation, +27 82 884 5974.  

Issued by the Department of International Relations and Cooperation

OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road





Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 28 September, 2012 11:16 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa