Press Release

06 November 2013

Minister Nkoana-Mashabane to co-chair the Inaugural Session of the Ministerial Meeting of the Bi-National Commission (BNC) between South Africa and Namibia

International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane arrived in Windhoek, the Republic of Namibia, on 06 November 2013, ahead of a State Visit by H. E. President Jacob Zuma, scheduled for 07 November 2013.

The highlight of the State Visit will be the inauguration of the Bi-National Commission (BNC) between South Africa and Namibia.

The State Visit will be preceded by the Ministerial Meeting of the BNC scheduled for 06 November 2013.

Minister Nkoana-Mashabane will co-chair the inaugural session of the Ministerial BNC with her Namibian counterpart, H.E Hon Minister Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Namibia.

During the Ministerial BNC, it is expected that the two delegations will review and strengthen bilateral cooperation and partnerships. Multilateral cooperation and other issues of mutual interest are also expected to be discussed.

The Meeting will take place in four Sub-Committees i.e. Diplomatic; Economic; Social; and Defence and Security.

South Africa and Namibia currently cooperate in various fields, including environment, in particular Trans-Frontier Parks, Marine and Coastal Management, Transport, Energy, Science and Technology, Trade and Industry, Spatial Development Initiatives, Defence and Security, Agriculture and issues relating to Regional Integration.

Furthermore, a number of South African companies are involved in Namibia in a variety of sectors including mining, retail, food and beverages, hotels and leisure, banking and health.

For further information, please contact Mr Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for DIRCO, on 082 884 5974.


460 Soutpansberg Road





Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 6 November, 2013 11:34 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa