Press Release

30 June 2013

Minister Nkoana-Mashabane to attend the International Conference on Nuclear Security in Vienna

International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane will lead the South African delegation to the International Conference on Nuclear Security, organised by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) on 1-3 July 2013. The conference will take place in Vienna, Austria.

This Ministerial Conference will adopt a Declaration emphasising that whilst the responsibility for Nuclear Security rests entirely with individual Member States, the IAEA plays a central role in strengthening the nuclear security framework globally and in leading coordination of international activities in the field of nuclear security.

South Africa commends the IAEA for the assistance it has provided for our nuclear security efforts.  South Africa is the only African country that operates a nuclear power plant, Koeberg.  The IAEA supports South Africa to maintain a high level of security of its nuclear facilities, nuclear and radioactive materials.

Global nuclear security cannot be strengthened as long as nuclear weapons exist.  Therefore, progress in the area of nuclear disarmament is crucial.

Minister Nkoana-Mashabane is expected to hold bilateral discussions with Mr Yukiya Amano, Director General of the IAEA; Dr Lassina Zerbo, Executive Secretary-elect of the Comprehensive Test-Ban Treaty Organisation (CTBTO); Mr Li Yong, Director General of the United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO) and Dr Kandeh Yumkella Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General and Chief Executive of Sustainable Energy for All (E4ALL)

For further information, please contact Mr. Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for DIRCO, on 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road





Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 1 July, 2013 7:43 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa