Press Release

12 August 2013

President Zuma to lead SA delegation to the SADC Summit in Malawi

His Excellency President Jacob Zuma is scheduled to lead a South African Government delegation to the 33rd Ordinary SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government, which will take place on 17-18 August 2013 in Lilongwe, Republic of Malawi.

President Zuma is also expected to participate in the SADC Organ Troika Summit prior to the SADC Summit. The Organ Troika comprises Namibia, South Africa and Tanzania.

The SADC Summit is a statutory meeting of the regional body which convenes annually in August. The meeting usually considers a variety of matters for decision and noting.  It also examines the performance of SADC Institutions and reviews the overall implementation of the SADC’s socio-economic programmes.

Some of the issues to be discussed during the Summit in Lilongwe include an overview of the political and socio-economic situation in the region.

The Republic of Malawi will assume the position of Chair of the SADC during the Summit.

SADC continues to serve as the primary vehicle for South African foreign policy to achieve regional development and integration within Southern Africa. South Africa’s future remains inextricably linked to the future of the African continent and that of its neighbours in Southern Africa. 

South Africa is one of 15 member states of SADC which also includes Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.  Madagascar is currently suspended pending the restoration of constitutional and democratic order in that country.

International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane will participate in the SADC Council of Ministers’ Meeting scheduled for 14-15 August 2013.

The SADC Council of Ministers Meeting precedes the 33rd Ordinary SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government, which will take place on 17-18 August 2013.

As well as Minister Nkoana-Mashabane, President Zuma will be accompanied by the following Ministers: Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, Minister of Defence and Military Veterans; Dr Rob Davies, Minister of Trade and Industry; and Mr Pravin Gordhan, Minister of Finance.

For more information, please contact Mr Clayson Monyela, 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road





Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 13 August, 2013 7:55 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa