Media Release

09 October 2013

Deputy President Motlanthe to host the 8th SA-Sweden Bi-National Commission

The Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa, His Excellency Kgalema Motlanthe, and the Deputy Prime Minister of Sweden, His Excellency Jan Björklund, will on Friday, 11 October 2013, convene the 8th South Africa-Sweden Bi-National Commission in Pretoria.

The 8th Session of the Bi-National Commission will assess the state of bilateral relations between the two countries, particularly the implementation of the programme of bilateral cooperation. Discussions will focus on strengthening and deepening co-operation in the areas of economy, education, skills development and science and technology. 

South Africa and Sweden enjoy warm and cordial bilateral relations. In 2002, South Africa and Sweden established a Binational Commission as a formal structure to coordinate bilateral cooperation between the two countries. The Commission is co-chaired by South Africa’s Deputy President and Sweden’s Deputy Prime Minister. Since its establishment, the BNC has held seven sessions, alternating between the two capitals.

The last session of the Bi-National Commission was held in October 2011 in Sweden and covered the areas of international relations and human rights, trade and investment, ICT, energy and vocational education.

Sweden is an important investor in South Africa with more than 100 companies active in the country and contributing to employment creation. Sweden is also an important export market for South African value added products. In addition, Sweden is a source of long-haul tourism for South Africa. In 2012 more than 40 000 Swedish tourists visited South Africa.

For further information please contact Mr Clayson Monyela spokesperson for DIRCO on 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road





Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 9 October, 2013 10:22 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa