Media Statement

10 JULY 2014

President Zuma leads SA delegation to the BRICS Summit in Brazil

The President of the Republic of South Africa, His Excellency Jacob Zuma, will lead a South African delegation to the 6th Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa (BRICS) Summit, to be hosted by the Federative Republic of Brazil on 15-16 July 2014 under the theme: “BRICS: Inclusive Growth, Sustainable Solutions".

During South Africa’s tenure as Chair of BRICS, substantive progress was achieved in anchoring the new BRICS mechanisms that were launched at the Fifth BRICS Summit, i.e. the BRICS Business Council as well as the BRICS Think Tanks Council, and reports will be submitted to the BRICS Leaders on the work undertaken by these structures.

The South African Government has fully implemented the eThekwini Action Plan, adopted at the last BRICS Summit hosted in Durban, South Africa, and will present a hand-over report on sectoral cooperation during its tenure as BRICS Chair, highlighting progress made by South Africa during its tenure as Chair of BRICS in relation to the decisions contained in the eThekwini Declaration and Action Plan.

South Africa joined BRICS with three objectives in mind, namely: 

  • to advance our national interests as outlined in various State of the Nation Addresses and the National Development Plan;
  • to promote our regional integration programme and related continental infrastructure programmes; and
  • to partner with key players of the South on issues related to global governance and its reform. 

Since its first Summit in 2009, BRICS has consolidated its position as a positive force for the democratisation of international relations and for the enhancement of existing institutions of international governance. The forum has also forged an impressive partnership carrying out cooperation initiatives in more than 30 areas between its members.

President Zuma will also attend the closing ceremony and the final match of the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil in Maracana Stadium, Rio de Janeiro, on 13 July 2014, at the invitation of the Brazilian President Her Excellency Dilma Rousseff.

The President Zuma will be accompanied by the Ministers of International Relations and Cooperation (Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane); Finance (Mr Nhlanhla Nene); Trade and Industry (Dr Rob Davies); State Security (Mr David Mahlobo) and Energy (Ms Tina Joemat-Pettersson) as well as a business delegation.

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela, spokesperson for the Department of International Relations and Cooperation, 082 884 5974

OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 10 July, 2014 9:43 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa