Media Statement

31 October 2014

Statement by the Government of South Africa on the situation in Burkina Faso

The South African Government notes with concern the ongoing political developments in the Republic of Burkina Faso.

It is reported that the growing upheaval in Ouagadougou, capital of the Republic of Burkina Faso, resulted in the destruction of several key installations, including the police headquarters, and the deployment of the army and police on the streets.

The South African Government appeals to the people and all political leaders in the country to refrain from any further violent activities that may undermine peace, security and stability in the country and calls on all relevant parties to work speedily and through an inclusive process towards the restoration of constitutional order.

The South African Government joins the call made by the African Union (AU) on the Government of Burkina Faso to respect the wishes of the people, as well as the prevailing Constitution of the Republic of Burkina Faso.

South Africa wishes to remind all those involved in the current developments in Burkina Faso of the AU’s position of rejecting unconstitutional changes of government.

The South African Government is monitoring the unfolding situation and will continue to do so. We urge all involved, including Burkina Faso's security forces, to adhere to non-violence, and to allow for an environment in which issues can be debated in a peaceful and inclusive manner.

All South Africans living in or visiting Burkina Faso are advised to register on the ROSA system  and stay away from all protest sites. For assistance, please contact the South African Embassy in Ouagadougou at tel no: 00-226 774 121 21 or   00-226 503 760 98.

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela +27 82 884 5974.


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 31 October, 2014 11:54 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa