Final Communiqué: 2nd Session of the Congo-South Africa Joint Commission for Cooperation, Brazzaville, 16 April 2014

Pursuant to the provisions of the General Agreement on Cooperation between the Government of the Republic of Congo and the Government of the Republic of South Africa which was signed in Brazzaville on November 26th, 2003, the 2nd session of Congo – South Africa Joint Commission for Cooperation was held in Brazzaville in April 14-16, 2014.

The Congolese delegation was led by His Excellency Mister Basile IKOUEBE, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation.

The South Africa delegation was led by Her Excellency, Madam Maite NKOANA MASHABANE, Minister of International Relations and Cooperation.

The following Ministers attended the proceedings of the Joint Commission:

  • Mister Rodolphe ADADA,  Minister of State, Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation and Merchant Navy
  • Mister Pierre OBA, Minister of Mining and Geology
  • Mister Rigobert MABOUNDOU, Minister of Agriculture and Breeding
  • Minister Jean Claude GAKOSSO, Minister of Culture and Arts
  • Mister Bienvenu OKIEMY, Minister of Communication in charge of the Relations with the Parliament, Spokesman  of the Government
  • Mrs Catherine EMBONDZA, born LIPITI, Minister of Women’s Advancement and Women’s Integration to Development.

The opening ceremony registered the speeches of the two Heads of Delegation.

As he was taking the floor, the Head of the Congolese delegation wished a warm welcome to his South African counterpart and her delegation.

He expressed the wish to witness the further development of cooperation between Congo and South Africa, thus contributing to the strengthening of the multiform links uniting the Congolese and South African peoples.

In her response, the South African Head of Delegation thanked her Congolese counterpart for the warm welcome and all the tokens of friendship extended to herself and her delegation.

The two Heads of Delegation paid a deserved tribute to the two Heads of State, their Excellencies Messrs Denis SASSOU N’GUESSO, President of the Republic of Congo and Jacob ZUMA, President of the Republic of South Africa who spare no effort for the promotion of the relations of cooperation and friendship between the two countries.
The two delegations congratulated themselves on the atmosphere of cordiality, frankness and mutual understanding that prevailed during the proceedings of this 2nd session of the Joint Commission which made it possible to review the items on its agenda.

During the proceedings, the two Parties reviewed the issues relating to the following fields of cooperation:

  1. Trade
  2. SMEs and Crafts
  3. Agriculture and Breeding
  4. Mining
  5. Hydrocarbons
  6. Tourism
  7. Transports
  8. Defence and Security

The two Parties noted with satisfaction the development of the cooperation between the two countries and renewed their commitment to do their best in order to achieve better results.

At the end of their proceedings, they agreed to hold the 3rd session of the Joint Commission of Cooperation in South Africa in 2016.

Done at Brazzaville, April 16th, 2014.

For enquiries please contact Mr Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for the Department of International Relations and Cooperation, at 082 884 5974.

OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 17 April, 2014 7:40 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa