Press Release

20 January 2014

South Africa congratulates the new President of the Republic of Madagascar

The Government of the Republic of South Africa wishes to congratulate Mr Hery Rajaonarimampianina on his election as the new President of the Republic of Madagascar, as announced on 17 January 2014 by Madagascar’s Special Electoral Court (CES).

The South African Government wishes to express its satisfaction and appreciation for the dignified and conciliatory approach that both candidates, Mr Rajaonarimampianina and Mr Robinson, have adopted in the long election campaign.

South Africa supports the statement by the Chairperson of the SADC Organ Troika on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, His Excellency President Hifikepunye Pohamba of the Republic of Namibia, in which he urges the unsuccessful candidates, their respective mouvances and parties, political leaders and stakeholders to clearly demonstrate their commitment towards ending the political crisis in the country and finding a lasting solution by putting the supreme interests of the country above their individual and political parties’ interests.

In the wake of the announcement by the CES on 17 January 2014, all concerned stakeholders and their supporters should exercise restraint and refrain from any political incitement that could undermine peace and stability. 

The Government, all stakeholders and the people of the Republic of Madagascar are urged to work towards reconciliation and national unity. It is the sincere desire of the Government of the Republic of South Africa to reactivate and expand its bilateral relations with the Republic of Madagascar.

It is looking forward to working with Mr Rajaonarimampainina’s administration to promote bilateral co-operation between the two countries.

For further information, please contact Mr Clayson Monyela, spokesperson for DIRCO, on 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 20 January, 2014 2:46 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa