Press Release

01 August 2014

Deputy Minister Mfeketo to participate in the emergency meeting of the NAM Committee on Palestine

International Relations and Cooperation Deputy Minister Nomaindiya Mfeketo, accompanied by President Zuma’s Special Envoys to the Middle East, Dr Zola Skweyiya and Mr Aziz Pahad, will attend an emergency meeting of the Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) Committee on Palestine, scheduled for 04 August 2014, in Tehran, the Islamic Republic of Iran.

The Islamic Republic of Iran, as Chair of the NAM, has called for an emergency meeting of its Committee on Palestine.

South Africa is a member of the Committee, together with Algeria, Bangladesh, Colombia, Cuba, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Palestine, Senegal, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The purpose of the Committee meeting will be to discuss and consider the current situation and latest developments in Palestine, especially the situation in Gaza.

The last meeting of the NAM Committee on Palestine was held during the NAM Ministerial Conference in Algiers, Algeria on 28 May 2014.  The Committee adopted the Declaration on Palestine, which reaffirms unconditional support to the cause of the Palestinian people. 

South Africa remains committed to the Palestinian struggle for self-determination, freedom and justice. The International Year of Solidarity with the People of Palestine, declared as such by the United Nations (UN), should be utilised to initiate concrete programs and activities aimed at supporting the just and legitimate cause of the Palestinians.

Through participation in the NAM, South Africa continues to share similar positions on various issues with other countries of the South and to work with these countries to create political, economic and social convergence for the fight against poverty and underdevelopment.

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for DIRCO, 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 14 August, 2014 3:02 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa