Media Release

05 March 2014

Deputy Minister Fransman to represent SA at the SADC Council of Ministers

The Deputy Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Mr Marius Fransman, is scheduled to lead a South African delegation to the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Council of Ministers meeting, which will take place on 10-11 March 2014 in Lilongwe, Malawi.

The Republic of Malawi is the current Chair of the SADC.

The SADC Council of Ministers Meeting is a statutory meeting of the regional body which convenes twice annually, usually in March and in August.

The meeting usually considers matters from different sectors for decision and for noting.  It also examines the performance of SADC institutions and approves its work programme and budget for the next fiscal year.

SADC continues to serve as the primary vehicle for South African foreign policy to achieve regional development and integration within Southern Africa. SADC strives for balanced and equitable regional integration as a fundamental condition for sustainable development in the region.

South Africa is one of the 15 Member States of the SADC, which includes Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. 

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela, 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 10 March, 2014 8:25 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa