Press Release

15 August 2014

President Zuma to lead the South African delegation to the 34th Ordinary SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government

His Excellency President Jacob Zuma will lead the South African delegation to the 34th Ordinary Southern African Development Community (SADC) Summit of Heads of State and Government, scheduled for 17-18 August 2014 in Victoria Falls, Republic of Zimbabwe.

The theme of the 2014 Summit is: “SADC Strategy for Economic Transformation: Leveraging the Region’s Diverse Resources for Sustainable Economic and Social Development through Beneficiation and Value Addition.”

The Republic of Zimbabwe is the new Chair of SADC, taking over from the Republic of Malawi during this SADC Summit in Victoria Falls.

The SADC Summit, convened annually in August, is a statutory meeting aimed at examining the performance of its institutions and to review the overall implementation of its socio-economic programmes.

During the Summit, the SADC leaders will deliberate on socio-economic issues that affect the region, including the global economic situation; the performance of the SADC economy; gender and development; food security; and HIV and AIDS.

In addition, the SADC leaders will also consider the report on the review of the Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP).  The RISDP is a comprehensive development and implementation framework guiding the Regional Integration agenda of SADC over a period of fifteen years (2005-2020) and is designed to provide clear strategic direction with respect to SADC programmes, projects and activities.

SADC is defining a new development blueprint that is expected to shape the region’s integration agenda until 2050.  In this regard, the SADC Vision 2050 will also be discussed. The SADC Vision 2050 aims to provide a framework for a long-term vision for SADC as the region seeks to position itself in a context of emerging global and continental issues.

South Africa is one of 15 Member States of SADC, which include Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

SADC is the primary vehicle used by the sub-region to promote balanced and equitable integration among its Member States, and to achieve sustainable development, allowing the region address the key challenge of unemployment and to eradicate poverty.

President Zuma will be accompanied by Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Minister of International Relations and Cooperation; Dr Rob Davies, Minister of Trade and Industry; Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, Minister of Defence and Military Veterans; Mr David Mahlobo, Minister of State Security; and Mr Nhlanhla Nene, Minister of Finance.

For more information, please contact Mr Clayson Monyela, spokesperson for DIRCO on 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 16 August, 2014 8:39 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa