Media Statement

22 October 2014

South African delegation participates in a meeting of the Tripartite Mechanism on Dialogue and Cooperation in Angola

A South African Government delegation comprising of the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane; Minister of State Security, Mr David Mahlobo; Minister of Energy, Ms Tina Joemat-Pettersson; and the Deputy Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Mr Obed Bapela, participated in the Second Session of the Ministerial Meeting of the Tripartite Mechanism on Dialogue and Cooperation, held in Luanda, Republic of Angola, on Wednesday, 22 October 2014.

The Tripartite Mechanism, made up of the Republic of Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Republic of South Africa, was established in March 2013 through a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed by the Heads of State of the three countries. With the signing of the MoU, the three countries made a commitment to strengthen cooperation in four areas, namely: politics and diplomacy; security, defence and public order; economy and infrastructure; and public administration and local government.

Amongst other things, the meeting decided to set up a permanent secretariat, to be domiciled in Angola. It is expected that the secretariat will coordinate the work of the Tripartite Mechanism. South Africa will host a meeting of senior officials from the three member countries in November 2014 to finalise details relating to the operationalisation of the secretariat.

South Africa believes that the Tripartite Mechanism has the potential to serve as a vehicle for the three member countries to consolidate political and economic integration, in line with the aspirations of the region and the continent.

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela, +27 82 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 23 October, 2014 8:03 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa