Media Statement

06 March 2015

SADC Council of Ministers Meeting focuses on integration and industrialisation

A South African Government delegation led by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, and the Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies, is taking part in the SADC Council of Ministers meeting held in Harare, Republic of Zimbabwe (06-07 March 2015).

The Republic of Zimbabwe was elected to the position of Chair of the SADC at the August 2014 SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government. The Zimbabwean Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Simbarashe Mumbengegwi, chairs the Council of Ministers taking place under the theme, "Regional Strategy and Roadmap for Industrialisation". The focus of the meeting of the SADC Council of Ministers is on the implementation of the decisions taken by the Summit of Heads of State and Government, amongst other matters.

SADC is the primary vehicle used by the sub-region to promote balanced and equitable integration among its Member States, and to achieve sustainable development, allowing the region to address the key challenge of poverty eradication. 

South Africa is one of 15 Member States of SADC and currently chairs the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation. Other Member States include Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. 


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 10 February, 2015 12:30 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa