Media Statement

15 August 2015

President Zuma to lead a South African delegation to the SADC Summit in Botswana

The President of the Republic of South Africa, His Excellency President Jacob Zuma, will lead a South African delegation to the 35th Ordinary Southern African Development Community (SADC) Summit of Heads of State and Government, scheduled for 17-18 August 2015 in Gaborone, in the Republic of Botswana, under the theme: "Accelerating Industrialisation of SADC Economies Through Transformation of Natural Endowment and Improved Human Capital.”

It is expected that the Summit will focus on, amongst other things, implementation of the recently adopted Regional Industrialisation Strategy that was approved during the Extra-ordinary SADC Summit in April 2015 in Harare, Zimbabwe. The Summit is also expected to review progress towards achieving the objectives outlined in the Revised Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) 2015 – 2020.

The RISDP is the blueprint for the SADC programme of action on achieving regional economic development and will guide the implementation of SADC programmes over the next five years, with a particular focus on Industrial Development and Market Integration; Infrastructure in Support of Regional Integration; and Peace and Security Cooperation, amongst other issues.

On matters of peace, stability and security in the region, South Africa will give a report to the Summit on matters relating to the work of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation. South Africa was elected in August 2014 in Zimbabwe to chair this most important Organ which is charged with the maintenance of peace, stability and security in the SADC region.

In the past year, SADC has supported mediation, peacekeeping, peacebuilding, post-conflict reconstruction and development efforts in response to the political and security challenges in the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Republic of Madagascar.

President Zuma will be accompanied by Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa, International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Trade and Industry Minister Rob Davies, State Security Minister David Mahlobo and Deputy Finance Minister Mcebisi Jonas.

Enquiries: Clayson Monyela, 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 17 August, 2015 9:08 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa