Media Statement

14 March 2016

SADC Council of Ministers meets in Botswana

A South African Government delegation led by International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane is participating in the meeting of the SADC Council of Ministers in Gaborone, Botswana (14-15 March 2016). The SADC Council of Ministers is a statutory meeting which convenes annually to consider the political and administrative work of the regional institution.

SADC is the primary vehicle used by the sub-region to promote balanced and equitable integration among its Member States, and to achieve sustainable development. South Africa is one of 15 Member States of SADC and currently Outgoing Chair of the SADC Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation. Other Member States include Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Some of the pertinent issues to be discussed during the meeting include the following: Progress Report on the Review of the Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) and Regional Industrialization Strategy and Roadmap; SADC – EU Political Dialogue as well Measures to Mitigate Natural Disasters.

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela, 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 14 March, 2016 1:48 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa