Media Advisory

12 October 2017

Update on media arrangements for the IORA Council of Ministers

South Africa is scheduled to the 17th Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) Council of Ministers’ Meetings from 14th-18 October 2017 in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal Province. The Council of Ministers will take place under the theme: “IORA – Uniting the Peoples of Africa, Asia, Australasia and the Middle East Through Enhanced Co-operation for Peace, Stability and Sustainable Development”.

The current membership of IORA consists 21 states: Australia, Bangladesh, Comoros, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mozambique, Oman, Seychelles, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Thailand, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Yemen. IORA is also supported by seven Dialogue Partners: the United States, Japan, France, the United Kingdom (UK), Egypt, China and Germany. IORA has observer status at the United Nations General Assembly, UNCTAD and the African Union. 

Draft Media Programme:

09:00 – 09:40

Opening Session (opening remarks – media present)

09:40 – 10:00

Group Photo
Coffee Break

10:00 – 12:30

Council of Ministers Meeting (Member State & Dialogue Partner country statements)

12:30 – 14:00

Working Luncheon with Dialogue Partners

14:00 – 15:00

Closed Session (Member States only)

15:00 – 15:15

Coffee / Tea break

15:15 – 15:30

Closing Session (concluding remarks – media present)

15:30 – 16:00

Press Conference

The media are also invited to the 8th India, Brazil, South Africa (IBSA) Trilateral Ministerial Commission (ITMC) meeting scheduled for 17 October 2017 at Southern Sun Elangeni from 10h00 – 12h00. The meeting will be chaired by Minister Nkoana-Mashabane and attended by her counterparts from Brazil, Minister Aloysio Nunes Ferreira, and India, Dr V.K. Singh.

Media accreditation

Live accreditation will take place from 12 – 17 October 2017. The accreditation centre opens at 08h00 daily. The venue for accreditation is Southern Sun Elangeni, 63 Snell Parade, North Beach, Durban. Members of the media are expected to present their press cards and ID/passports at the accreditation venue. Only bona fide journalists, broadcasters, photographers, film and television camera crews and technicians will be accredited as media.

Media facilities

A Media Centre with facilities for print, online and electronic media will be available at the meeting venue. Access to media facilities will be available only to accredited media. Work stations will be provided in the Media Centre. Complimentary Wi-Fi will be available.

Enquiries: Mr Nelson Kgwete: 076 431 3078


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 12 October, 2017 12:19 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa