Media Statement

12 July 2017

Minister Nkoana-Mashabane to visit Luanda for the 4th Session of the Joint Commission for Cooperation between SA and Angola

International Relations and Cooperation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane will visit Luanda, Republic of Angola, on 14 July 2017 to co-chair the 4th Session of the Joint Commission for Cooperation (JCC) between South Africa and Angola with her Angolan counterpart, Mr Georges Robelo Chicoti.

During their official talks, the two Ministers will review progress made in the consolidation of bilateral relations including implementation of bilateral projects as well as exchange views on current regional and international issues of mutual concern.

South Africa and Angola enjoy historical and fraternal bilateral relations that were cemented during the period of the liberation struggle when Angola housed and supported South African liberation cadres in various camps in that country.

Bilateral relations between South Africa and Angola were formalised when the Joint Commission for Cooperation (JCC) Agreement was signed between the two countries on 20 November 2000.
To date, 33 agreements and Memoranda of Understanding have been signed within the JCC framework, with a view to enhancing cooperation in a number of areas. These include Agriculture, Health, the Exemption from Visa requirements for Diplomatic passport holders, the Promotion and Protection of Investments, a Defence Protocol, Co-operation in the Field of Electricity, Social Assistance and Reintegration, Trade and Industry, Transport, Energy, Arts and Culture, Education, etc.

Concerning economic cooperation between the two countries, a number of South African companies are involved in Angola in a variety of sectors including construction, mining, housing, retail, food and beverages, hotels and leisure, banking and medical services.

Angola is one of South Africa's largest trading partners on the continent. South Africa imports goods worth R18 billion from Angola while exporting just above R8 billion.

The two countries have bolstered their regional and multilateral cooperation as evidenced by the August 2013 signing of a Memorandum of Understanding establishing a Tripartite Mechanism on Dialogue and Cooperation between Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and South Africa which aims at helping the DRC to consolidate peace and stability.

Minister Nkoana-Mashabane will be joined by the Minsters of Defence and Military Veterans, Energy, Finance, Transport and the Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry.

Enquiries: Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for DIRCO, 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road


Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 4 April, 2017 9:27 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa