President Cyril Ramaphosa to attend SADC Summit in Namibia

15 August 2018

President Cyril Ramaphosa will from 16-18 August 2018 lead South Africa’s delegation to the 38th Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) in Windhoek, Namibia.

The Summit will take place under the theme “Promoting Infrastructure Development and Youth Empowerment for Sustainable Development”. The Summit will be preceded by a meeting of the SADC Organ on Politics Defence and Security tomorrow, Thursday 16 August 2018.

In his role as Outgoing Chair of SADC, President Cyril Ramaphosa will deliver a report to the Summit outlining the work of the regional body for the duration of South Africa’s tenure as Chair from August 2017 to August 2018. As Chair, South Africa was guided by its tenure theme, “Partnering with the Private Sector in Developing Industry and Regional Value Chains”.

Among other issues, the Summit will discuss socio-economic situation in the region, while Angola will, as Chair of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, report on the state of peace and security in the region. Particular attention will be paid to recent and forthcoming elections in the region, including in Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Eswatini and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In line with customary practice in SADC, a recorded 2018 SADC Day message by President Ramaphosa, in his capacity as Chair, will be broadcast on national radio and television services throughout the region tomorrow, 17 August.

In addition, the President will participate in the prize giving ceremony for the annual SADC Media Awards and SADC Secondary School Essay Competition.

South Africa will remain a member of the SADC Troika as Outgoing Chair until August 2019.

President Ramaphosa is accompanied by the Minister Lindiwe Sisulu - Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Minister Jeff Radebe- Minister of Energy, Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula -Minister of Defence, Minister Rob Davies - Minister of Trade and Industry, Minister Nhlanhla Nene - Minister of Finance and Minister Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba -Minister of State Security.

Enquiries: Khusela Diko, Spokesperson – 072 854 5707

Issued by: The Presidency



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 15 August, 2018 3:05 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa