President Ramaphosa arrives in New York, USA for the 73rd Session of the United Nations General Assembly

23 September 2018

President Cyril Ramaphosa has today, 23 September 2018, arrived in New York, United States of America, to attend the 73rd Session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA73), scheduled to take place from 25-27 September 2018.

The theme for this year’s session is “Making the United Nations relevant to all people: global leadership and shared responsibilities for peaceful equitable and sustainable societies.”

The UN General Debate will be preceded by the unveiling of a statue of President Nelson Mandela and the historic Nelson Mandela Peace Summit, a high-level plenary meeting convened by the President of General Assembly Ms Maria Espinosa, in honour of the centenary of the birth of South Africa’s first democratically elected president.

This year’s session will mark President Ramaphosa’s inaugural participation in UNGA as Head of State and Government. President Ramaphosa will participate in the annual General Debate which is the occasion for world leaders to gather at UN Headquarters to discuss global issues. President Ramaphosa will outline South Africa’s domestic and foreign policy goals and priorities. These include the country’s land reform programme aimed at fostering greater stability, inclusiveness and transformation within the South African economy.

President Ramaphosa will also meet with CEOs of major global companies as part of the drive to attract foreign direct investment in order to ramp up the South African economy. This will form part of the build-up to South Africa’s International Investment Conference which will take place on 26 and 27 October with a focus on bringing investment of $100 billion into the South African economy over the next five years.

President Ramaphosa is accompanied by Minister of International Relations and Cooperation Ms Lindiwe Sisulu; Minister of Trade and Industry Dr Rob Davies; Minister of Defence and Military Veterans Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula; Minister of Finance Mr Nhlanhla Nene and Minister of Health Dr Aaron Motsoaledi, Minister of Arts and Culture Mr Nathi Mthethwa; Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services Siyabonga Cyprian Cwele; Minister of Higher Education Ms Naledi Pandor; Minister of State Security Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba as well as Minister of Water and Sanitation Mr Gugile Nkwinti.

Media enquiries: Khusela Diko, Spokesperson to the President on 072 854 5707

Issued by: The Presidency



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 25 September, 2018 8:19 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa