Media Statement

30 April 2019

Deputy Minister Landers assures SADC Observers that South Africa is fully committed to peace, security and development of the African continent

The Deputy Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Mr Luwellyn Landers, has assured members of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Electoral Observation Mission (SEOM) that South Africa has no no-go area zones.

This follows some media reports that some members of the observer mission had some fear of being attacked by some members of the community.

Deputy Minister Landers received the delegation of the SADC SEOM, which is already in South Africa to observe the South African general elections scheduled for next week, 8 May 2019.

“Everyone in South Africa understands that people are free to move everywhere. We can assure everyone who is in our country for whatever project that nothing untoward will happen to them. What we witnessed a few weeks ago was purely criminal activities”, said Deputy Minister Landers.

“As the Government and people of South Africa, we are fully committed to peace, security and development of our continent”, added Deputy Minister Landers.

Deputy Minister Landers’ message collaborated with the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Lindiwe Sisulu’s message during the DIRCO monthly media briefing that the government had on a number of occasions stated that the safety and security of everyone within the country were the responsibility of government and that there was no reason for any safety concern from SEOM members.

The delegation that met Deputy Minister Landers was led by Hon Joseph Malanji, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Zambia and Head of the SADC SEOM to the Republic of South Africa.

Enquiries: Mr Ndivhuwo Mabaya, or 083 645 7838


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 1 May, 2019 3:22 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa