Media Statement

13 August 2019

Minister Pandor arrives in Tanzania to lead SA’s delegation at the meeting of the SADC Council of Ministers

The Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Dr Naledi Pandor, has arrived in Dar es Salaam, United Republic of Tanzania, were she is leading a South African delegation to the meeting of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Council of Ministers scheduled for 13 to 14 August 2019.

The meeting is expected to deliberate on a number of key issues pertaining to the region, consider a number of strategic documents and receive update reports on the progress made since the last meeting, which took place in Windhoek, Namibia in March 2019.

Key issues to be deliberated upon will include the status of finances of the SADC organisation and will also receive a report of the Finance and Human Resources and Administration Committees. Furthermore, Council will reflect on progress made towards Continental and Regional Integration and discuss development cooperation and resource mobilisation.

In addition, the Council will receive a progress report on the SADC Industrialisation Strategy and Roadmap and on the implementation of the current theme of the 38th SADC Summit “Promoting Infrastructure Development and Youth Empowerment for Sustainable Development.”

The meeting will precede the 39th SADC Ordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government, scheduled for 17 and 18 August 2019.

Minister Pandor will be joined by the Minister of Defence and Military Veterans, Mrs NN Mapisa-Nqakula; the Minister of Finance, Mr TT Mboweni; the Minister of Tourism, Ms M Kubayi-Ngubane; the Minister of State Security, Ms A Dlodlo and the Minister of Trade and Industry, Mr E Patel.

Enquiries: Mr Clayson Monyela, Spokesperson for DIRCO, 082 884 5974


OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road



Quick Links

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 14 August, 2019 8:07 AM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa