Constitutive Act of the African Union: Status of Signature and Ratification: 31 July 2001

All Member States of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) have signed the Act with only two still having to ratify, as at 31 July 2001.

The following Member States have ratified the Act and deposited their instruments of ratification in accordance with Article 27(2) of the Act:

Algeria Mali
Benin Mauritius
Botswana  Mozambique
Burkina Faso Namibia
Burundi Niger
Cape Verde Nigeria
Central African Republic Rwanda
Chad Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
Comoros Sao Tome & Principe
Côte d’Ivoire Senegal
Djibouti  Seychelles
Egypt Sierra Leone
Equatorial Guinea Somalia
Eritrea  South Africa
Ethiopia Sudan
Gabon Swaziland
Gambia Tanzania
Ghana  Togo
Kenya Tunisia
Lesotho Uganda
Liberia Zambia
Libya Zimbabwe

The following countries have ratified the Act but have yet to deposit their instruments:

Angola Guinea
Cameroon  Guinea Bissau
Congo (Brazzaville) Mauritania

The Democratic Republic of Congo and Madagascar have yet to ratify the Act.

Quick Links:

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 12 February, 2004 3:53 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
© 2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa