Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)


BP 2653, Djibouti, Djibouti
Tel: +253-354 050 / 352 880
Fax: +253-356 994 / 284


The Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development (IGADD) was formed in 1986 with a very narrow mandate around the issues of drought and desertification. Since then, and especially in the 1990s, IGADD has become the accepted vehicle for regional security and political dialogue. The member states are: Eritrea, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Kenya, Uganda, Sudan and Somalia.

The founding members of IGADD decided in the mid-1990s to revitalise the organisation into a fully-fledged regional political, economic, development, trade and security entity similar to SADC and ECOWAS. It was envisaged that the new IGADD would form the northern sector of COMESA with SADC representing the southern sector.

One of the principal motivations for the revitalisation of IGADD was the existence of many organisational and structural problems that made the implementation of its goals and principles ineffective. The IGADD Heads of State and Government met on 18 April 1995 at an Extraordinary Summit in Addis Ababa and resolved to revitalise the Authority and expand its areas of regional co-operation. On 21 March 1996, the Heads of State and Government at the Second Extraordinary Summit in Nairobi approved and adopted a new charter, structure and new name for the Authority, which then became the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD). In April 1996 on the recommendation of the Summit of the Heads of State and Government, the IGAD Council of Ministers identified three priority areas of co-operation:

• Conflict Prevention, Management and Resolution and Humanitarian Affairs;
• Infrastructure Development (Transport and Communications);
• Food Security and Environmental Protection.

Two Sub-committees have been established by the IGAD Council of Ministers to deal with the ongoing civil war in Sudan as well as the situation in Somalia. Kenya heads the proceedings of the Sub-committee on Sudan, while Ethiopia chairs the Sub-committee on Somalia.

IGAD is recognised as a prominent regional economic community in Africa, but does not form a pillar of the African Economic Community because COMESA has been designated to be the East African pillar. The other pillars are the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Southern African Development Community (SADC), Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS/CEEAC), and the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU/UMA).


IGAD Charter
Treaty establishing the African Economic Community
Protocol on relations between the African Economic Community and Regional Economic Communities


There are no formal relations between IGAD and South Africa.

Quick Links:

Disclaimer | Contact Us | HomeLast Updated: 12 February, 2004 3:58 PM
This site is best viewed using 800 x 600 resolution with Internet Explorer 5.0, Netscape Communicator 4.5 or higher.
2003 Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of South Africa